How Sunrise Meditation Paves the Way for Sunset Success

Boost mental clarity, emotional stability, and wellness

James F Hickey
5 min readNov 5, 2023
A person sits cross-legged in a tranquil meditation pose at a grand, open-air pavilion. The silhouette of the individual is framed by ornately carved columns and an intricately designed archway. The sun, poised just above the horizon, casts a warm, golden glow over undulating hills in the distance, suggesting an atmosphere of peace and contemplation at dawn.

In the subdued light of early morning, with the persistent night surrendering to the gentle beckoning of dawn, I find myself awake. The clock casts a soft glow, the hands pointing just shy of the time my alarm is set to rupture the silence. It’s a dance we’ve perfected over the years, my internal rhythm and that mechanical chirp — a fail-safe now more than a necessity. With practiced stealth, I ease out from under the warmth of the blankets, careful not to disturb the peaceful slumber of my husband. My bare feet pad across the cool floor to the living room, where a different kind of warmth awaits.

Settling onto the rug, the serene silence of the house is my sanctuary. My French bulldog, a companion in moments of stillness as much as in joyous chaos, nestles against me. His presence is a comforting weight as I close my eyes, inhaling deeply, the day’s intentions taking shape with each breath. For a fleeting ten minutes, time stands still, and meditation becomes our shared ritual. He knows, with a wisdom I sometimes envy, that soon enough, he’ll be frolicking with his sibling in the garden, the day breaking open with the promise of fresh discoveries.

--

--

James F Hickey

Queer writer, creative director, and American expat living in Portugal. Writing wellness, happiness, life lessons, and creative non-fiction. JamesFHickey.com